New Jersey DWI update NEWS FLASH!
Submitted by New Jersey DWI Lawyer, Jeffrey Hark.
As of December 1, 2019. New Jersey’s DWI statute has changed. By the time you are reading this blog. You will have learned that any 1st Offense alcohol DWI charge with a breath test results of .15 and less could result in NO license suspension! Yea, I said NO license suspension.
So why do you need an attorney ? I give you the following serious reasons.
- DWI convictions regardless of when are NOT expungable! Ever ! So if you just go into court and plead guilty you will have a DWI conviction on your NJ license that will surely effect you in the future.
- If you have any professional license (nurses, P.A.s doctors, accountants, CNAs, LPNs and any others) in New Jersey a DWI conviction, regardless of breath test results, will have a substantial effect on your license and ability to make a living.
- If your blow greater than .15 there are substantial penalties, fines, 4-6 months suspensions, and ignition interlock devise issues you need to be aware of.
- Any person with a prior DWI conviction will be subject to the same periods if suspensions: 7 months, 2 years, and 10 years however that suspension will be indefinitely until a guilty plea or guilty plea is found by the court.
- There are substantial expenses related to just going into court and pleading guilty with the court telling you 3 months to 2 years of $100 per month of ignition interlock mandatory installation in your vehicle.
- If you are charges with a refusal you shall be indefinitely loose your license until you go to court and plea and have the Infinitely until the interlock devise is installed.
Now also. You need to know why would you bow anyway. Because you could get out of any
- If you have a second offense refusal license forfeiture of 1-2 years only after the ignition interlock is installed and the. 2-4 additional years of ignition interlock.
There also significant ignition interlock requirements During the use of the suspension period. A certification must be submitted to DMV to show the machine has not failed by .08 test results within the last 30 days !!
END GAME ISSUE ALSO MAJOR PROBLEMS
Also. If you owe money to the ignition interlock device company for the monthly rental, or have not cooperated with the 67 day recertifications requirement, or any other lack of cooperation with the company, you will not get the certification to present to DMV so you can get your license back.
Jeffrey S. Hark, Esq.