N.J. drivers won’t have to fumble through the glove box for their registration under new law
Submitted by New Jersey New Jersey Criminal Lawyer, Jeffrey Hark
Most drivers have experienced that moment when they have to show a registration and it seems to be buried under every other paper in their glove box, console or wallet.
Soon, Jersey drivers will have to hunt no more.
Under bipartisan legislation signed in to law by Gov. Phil Murphy Monday, the registration will be as close as their smartphone or a tablet.
Drivers will be able to display their vehicle registration electronically instead of searching for a paper document under the bill new law. Drivers also have the option to continue using a paper registration.
“During the stress of a traffic stop, drivers often struggle to locate their paper registration card in a cluttered glove box,” said State Senator Anthony Bucco, R-Morris in a statement. “Knowing they will be able to use their phone to prove their car is properly registered may provide a bit of relief.”
The new law would also spare drivers from a $150 fine if issued a summons for failure to have the paper document during a police road stop.
The feature won’t be available immediately. The state Motor Vehicle Commission has 18 months to develop and offer electronic vehicle registrations that have provisions to deter counterfeit registrations and to allow fakes to be detected.
Only Michigan and Tennessee allow drivers to show electronic copies of a vehicle registration.
This changes the current law that says a driver is only allowed to provide a registration certificate in paper form to a police officer or judge.
“With the ubiquity of smart phones, as well as other mobile devices, it’s practical to let drivers retrieve an electronic copy to show law enforcement or any other authority that may need to see it.” said Assemblywoman Betty Lou DeCroce, R-Morris, a co-sponsor of the assembly bill.
Originally published here by NJ.com